The making of Kombucha

This is my first attempt at making my own Kombucha.

My good friend Colleen started making her own and was kind enough to share a Scoby with me.  She told me that the Scoby is a form of live bacteria and the sugar used in the recipe is vital to keeping it alive.  I thought that was interesting since I am always trying to learn something new in the area of nutrition to pass on to my clients.

I began to ponder the significance of sugar in my nutritional habits.  Am I also feeding “good bacteria” along with “bad bacteria”?  I began searching the internet with that question.  I came across a few thousand articles that gave different answers and without knowing who is writing those articles and their credibility in that subject, I was left without answers.

One article suggested feeding bacterial infections and starving viral infections, or was it the other way around, I can’t recall.  Two other articles argued about the pros and cons of sugar consumption and it’s affects on cancer in the body.  I can only hope that the sugar that I am putting in my body through veggies and a little fruit will be the most helpful in keeping illness away.  As I get older, my health becomes more and more important on my to do list.

If you are reading this and have any significant articles on this subject from reputatable sources, I would greatly appreciate it if you would post the link in the comments.  After all, the internet was created for us to share info!

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

To your success,

Carol

 

Leave a Reply

